Lunch Lady… Dinner?

sandwich

Who hates canned sloppy joe sauce???? I won’t mention the name, but I DO NOT like it!  I started making these last fall and I have to say, they make a GREAT comfy food for a warm night (indoors) watching TV.   They are super easy and really really good.  I usually make them for my husband and myself  but I’ve had a few friends try them and they liked ’em a lot too!  We like to eat them on Texas Toast but I really could just scoop a big spoonful onto some Ruffles and have some Hillbilly nachos!   There are choices with this recipe too… you could add diced onion instead of onion powder… or you could use ground chicken to cut the fat from the beef.  Here’s the recipe:

Sloppy Joes (8 servings)

2 lb ground beef                                   1 Tbsp + 1 tsp prepared mustard

2 c ketchup                                            1 tsp garlic powder

1/2 c water                                            1 tsp onion powder

1/4 c brown sugar                              1 tsp salt

1 Tbsp + 1 tsp Worcestershire sauce      

1)  Brown meat in a medium sized saucepan and drain.

2)  Add all the other ingredients and bring to a boil.  Reduce heat, cover and simmer for about 30 minutes or until sauce thickens and reduces.

2 Comments

Filed under Foodie Stuff, Uncategorized

2 responses to “Lunch Lady… Dinner?

  1. Oh thanks for the recipe. I enjoy home made sloppy joe sauce and don’t care for the canned as much.

    Hugs!

  2. Roberta

    My late late grandmother use to serve us Manwich. I loved my grandmother dearly, but not the Manwich! YUCK! Double YUCK! Triple Double Decker YUCK!

    When my mom would make us sloppy joes, she would brown the hamburger with some onion. Then she would add ketchup and mustard and mix that in. That was it. She would pile it on hamburger buns and it is still one of my favorites today.

    DH and I have gotten into making homemade potato chips. They are SO good but take a LOT of work because we bake ours. Even so, they are still better than any bagged chip available.

    I’m glad someone else doesn’t care for canned sloppy joes!

Leave a comment