Pay Attention: This is Important

I have good photos.  You know why?  I have a light box.  Its my turn to host a tutorial for Bugaboo and I decided not to go with a card-making technique, but rather with a presentation technique.  I don’t do cutesy set-ups with props and stuff (my brain gets too tired for that)… I have a light box, admittedly built by my husband.  Not anymore though.  I’m gonna build my own today and I’m gonna walk you thru it at the same time. 

You’ll need: a large box (twice the size you think you’ll need), electrical or duct tape, white tissue paper, a piece of white poster board, sturdy scissors or a razor blade.

Step 1: Remove the flaps from your box.  You don’t need them.

Step 2: Trace a rectangle or square on the top and both sides of your box- if the open box is facing you, the “bottom” is now the back and one long side is now the bottom.  Leave the bottom and the back of the box in tact.  Leave about 2 inches of “lip”.  Cut the shape out.

Step 3: Trim your tissue paper to an inch or so bigger than your hole.

Step 4: Tape the tissue in place ON THE OUTSIDE of the box… repeat steps 2 thru 4 for the other two sides of the box. 

Step 5: Place your piece of white cardstock in the box so that it gently curves where the bottom and the back meet.  This will give you a white backdrop with no seams.

Step 6: Place your box either under a lowhanging light and shine a desk lamp thru one of the sides, or simply place it next to a window when the sun is at its peak (this is actually what I do).  This will send a lot of light to your project, but your tissue will soften it and spread it out. 

Step 7: Snap away!  Play with whether or not to use the flash.  I don’t use mine a lot because the box lets in so much light that I don’t need it and it creates glares on my cards.  If you have a box, your cards can look like this:

21 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

21 responses to “Pay Attention: This is Important

  1. Gina

    Wow Alison, thank you so much! I knew making a light box had to be easier than it sounded, and I need one desperately.
    Love as always Gina x x x

  2. Thank you so much Alison ! I will surely make one ! Smiles from Catherine

  3. fantastic tut girl 🙂 my hubby made me one like this a few months back so would like to pass on a bit of useful info….. if you have furbabies (cats) keep the lightbox out of their reach!! my two had a blast one night clawing and breaking threw the tissue! but cats will be cats eh? LOL

  4. Terrific tutorial! I am going to try this out – thanks so much. ~chris

  5. jodie

    great tutorial Alison, thank you!!

  6. Amy

    OMGoodness!!!!! Thanks so much for doing this. I’ve been taking photos of my cards sitting on a white towel. What an awesome tutorial. Thanks

  7. Great tutorial. I’m definitely going to try this. Thanks for the easy-to-follow instructions. Off to find a suitable box!

  8. thanks for a wonderful tutorial, I’m off to find a good box

  9. WOW!!! Great tutorial, thanks so much for sharing!!!

  10. This is totally amazing! Wow, thanks I will be passing your site along. This will really help! Thanks for all your work!

  11. Thank you soooo much!

  12. Thank you for this tutorial – I’m going to make one!

  13. Great tutorial! Thank you for this.
    I’m going to look for a box real, real soon. (And some white tissue-paper!)

  14. Great tutorial!! Thanks for sharing!

  15. Diane L

    TFS this light box!!! Might just have to try that!
    Love your card btw,too cute!!!

  16. Get out Alison!!! This is so freakin’ cool! I’m going to make my husband Lance make me one. . .;) MWAH!

  17. Toni

    How cool is this???? I love it!!! I always wondered how everyone made their pictures look so “professional.” I will definitely make one now. No more “blank white” paper towels on the cutting board waiting until the afternoon sun for the perfect light!!!!

  18. Andrea (Andrea6760)

    Thank you SO much Alison! This is a tutorial that I really needed! I cant wait to try it out!

    ~Andrea

  19. Thanks for a great tutorial! I was so afraid I was going to come over here and you were going to tell me I needed special lights, like all the other tutorials seem to require. I love photography, but this business of photographing projects doesn’t always turn out how I expected. 🙂 I’m going to make my lightbox ASAP!!

  20. pezadoodle

    wonderful tut! lightboxes are a must but don’t have to cost alot!

  21. Wow! as easy as that! thanks for sharing,I’ve tried my best but haven’t achieved the result I was after. Will give this a go! Julie x

Leave a Reply

