Toffee Bars for BaNANorama

I thought today I’d post a DUAL baking/paper crafting project!  My hub’s aunt (Nan) was sick with a stomach bug last weekend during our snowstorm.  She’s all better and needs to rebuild right?  I saw a recipe in my Hershey’s cookbook and thought it sounded yum-my!  I had to alter it a little bit but the street cred goes to Hershey’s.  I like just about anything that involves a buttery crust that has to be patted into the bottom of the pan!  PLUS I love me some chocolate!  The full recipe is below.  Of course I could have taken them to her in just the plastic tub- but since she’s an animal lover AND it was a winter storm- I thought Riley would be an appropriate tub-topper!  I had colored him awhile ago and just cut him out with my Labels 2 Nestabilities and layered with co-ordinating cardstock.  A slot punch to both sides then some Alpine ribbon and felt flurries (both Stampin Up!) and some random brown buttons finished the whole thing off!!  And let me just say they are tasty tasty!  To top it all off, my husband wanted to practice his food photography and took this awesome picture of them!  You thought it was a picture from the internet didn’t you? (wink wink)

Toffee Cookie Bars  

2 1/3 c white flour              1 can sweetened condensed milk

2/3 c brown sugar (light or dark whatever you have)

1 1/2 sticks unsalted butter- cold and cut into tablespoons

1 egg- beaten

2 c semi-sweet chocolate chips      1 3/4 c crushed toffee candy bars

1- Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Spray 13x9x2 glass baking pan.

2- Sift flour and sugar together into food processor.  Add butter and pulse until combined.  Pour mixture into large bowl.  Add egg and mix well.  Stir in 1 and 1/2 cups of chocolate chips.  Scoop 1 and 1/2 cups of this mixture into another bowl.  Pour remainder into greased pan and press down with your spatula, fingers, the back of a spoon, etc. 

3- Bake 10 minutes.  Pour entire can of sweetened condensed milk evenly over hot crust.  Sprinkle with 1 and 1/2 cups crushed toffee.  Top with remaining mixture from step 2 followed by remaining 1/2 cups of chocolate chips. 

4- Bake 25 minutes (until goldeny) and then top with the rest of the toffee.  Cool completely in the pan before cutting.

8 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

8 responses to “Toffee Bars for BaNANorama

  1. Rebekka

    This sounds so good. Thanks

  2. Sounds yummy…thanks for sharing!!

  3. Those look super yummy!!! Oh no… now I’m hungry!!! 🙂

  4. Oh my oh my………….too much tempation for a Saturday morning!!! Love the packaging you did with it! I’m sure Nan will be pleased!!!

  5. Those look delicious, and I love how you wrapped them!

  6. Christy

    Thanks for including the recipe. Just might have to whip up a batch to eat with a cuppa tea. YUMMY!

  7. I don’t suppose that you’re taking orders for these, are you? 😉 Toffee is my favorite!!!

  8. These look and sound so yummy! I must try them. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

