Funky Retro Day

I think the purpose of sketch challenges is to try and get people to try and find new layouts.  Which is why I rarely participate!   I am very stodgy and stuck in my ways!  I am TRYING to explore new layouts… and, well… this is what we get!  I haven’t made a judgement call yet on this card- I definitely like it, but is it something I’ll recreate over and over again?  All supplies are Stampin Up!  I was inspired by the Sweat Pea DSP paper and went with the circle thing…  I layered my punches in the middle and along the bottom in Whisper White and Rose Red.  The blue is Bermuda Bay (a current favorite color for me) and the ribbon and brads are So Saffron.  I did some scoring along the top, but its hard to tell on the white.  The sentiment is from Whimsical Words (SAB right now!)  I definitely am drawn to the crisp feeling this card has…. we’ll see… this DSP has another page of this pattern in a different color palatte- I may try it with those colors and see how I feel then!

18 Comments

Filed under Stampin Stuff, Uncategorized

18 responses to “Funky Retro Day

  1. I love retro-styled cards, so I think that your card is just about perfect. . .;)

  2. This is very fun with the color combo and the way your punched circles replicated the circles on the patterned paper.

  3. My judgment on this card is…AMAZING! LOVE the colors, and I love that scallop border you created! And the ribbon just makes this card even better! You did a great job!

  4. I love circles…they’re all over my house so this type of card would be right up my alley…..

  5. Oh, I really like the way this turned out,love the color combo!

  6. Maggie

    Love that idea…the circles are a nice touch…not the normal squares…curves are good, at least on a card 🙂

  7. Martha Pineda

    this is adorable!

  8. Very cute, love the colors!

  9. Christy

    I love the retro look and you created it perfectly.

  10. TERRIFIC!!!! Wow – I just love this card! Love the main panel pp and the circles are great!!
    Nice work 🙂
    Maria

  11. This is very nice! I am also like you, trying to step out and do different things, I have always felt challenges mess up my flow of creativity. I have found they help with the flow of my creativity! Give me fresh ideas, I don’t do them a lot but when my design teams request them from us. :o)

    I also love the eyes of your pup on your banner!

  12. Great card!! The white background is too fabulous!! I love it!!

  13. Wow! This card will just cheer you right up! TFS!

  14. I really like this! The colors are just great and the circles just pop off the page. Great Job!

  15. This is a bright and cheery card – you did well out of your comfort zone

  16. Rebekka

    Awesome colors, and an awesome card.

  17. Cute Card! As a graphic designer, I know that many people have a hard time accepting white space in their work, but you did a fantastic job!

  18. LOVE it!! The colors, the layout, the retro style, PERFECT!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

