Christmas Ornament

redorngreenorn

Who DOESN”T need more Christmas Craft ideas?????  I spend quite a bit of time searching other people’s blogs for awesome craft ideas and card themes, etc…… a couple of days ago I was trying to come up with something I could do for our local doctors offices for Christmas and I found this post: http://www.addalittledazzle.com/my_weblog/2009/11/holiday-lounge-ornament-tutorial-and-more.html           

I did mine slightly differently- after I messed up a few times of course!  First I squirted my ink in the glass ball… I did not count drops.  Then I swirled my ink in the glass ball, popped the top off my re-inker and poured the excess back in the bottle.   I then set it upside down to drain for 30 minutes or so because no matter what you will get a pool of ink in the bottom if your don’t do this (I used the plastic tray that the ornaments come in).  THEN I funneled my glitter in and  swirled it.  I used Dazzling Diamonds glitter from Stampin Up.  WARNING!  These use a lot of ink and a lot of glitter!  Because they use so much ink, I chose to use colors I don’t use very often.  The pinkish one above is Marvelous Magenta and the green one is Wild Wasabi.  Even if your ink look to dark swirl it and let it drain, I made one using old olive (only one ornament because I use this color all the time, but I wanted to see if it would work).  It looked almost black but after it drained and the glitter was in it, it lightened up a lot and the deep green was really pretty!

9 Comments

Filed under Stampin Stuff, Uncategorized

9 responses to “Christmas Ornament

  1. these are fab, I did glass ornaments last year, kids loved them 🙂

  2. Very nice, I bet they will be beautiful next to the glittering lights.

  3. these turned out beautifully! 🙂

  4. Just beautiful! I’m afraid this would have disaster written all over everything for me!!LOL! Wonderful work! Blessings to you!

  5. OMGosh! These are wonderful! Oh, the mess I could make! I might just have to give these a try! Thanks for the inspiration!

  6. They came out fabulous! I made some last year and swore I wouldn’t do them again. 🙂 But I am!

  7. Your ornaments turned out beautifully! I have wanted to try making these for myself but not if they use up a ton of my re-inkers! lol. TY for the tips!

  8. these are gorgeous…nicely done….I was scrolling your blog and ran across the chocolate, chocolate cake bits…yummmy…I have not had sweets or carbs for two weeks and these babies are killling me……I will have to try them for Christmas, thanks…have a wonderful weekend!

    enjoy *~*

  9. These are really cool… thanks for the tips on how to make them more easily.

Leave a Reply

